HomeNewsEventsRugby UnionNew Zealand

2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup awarded to New Zealand

New Zealand has been awarded the 2021 Women's Rugby World Cup. The country beat Australia in a vote conducted by the World Rugby Council in Dublin yesterday.

The New Zealand women’s team – the Black Ferns – have won five of the last six Rugby World Cup tournaments but this will be the first time the country will have hosted the tournament. Seven out of the eight Women’s tournaments have taken place in Europe, the only exception being the 2006 tournament held in Canada.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here