HomeNewsEventsRugby UnionUSA

San Diego to stage return of Women’s Rugby Super Series

The US city of San Diego will host the returning Women’s Rugby Super Series this summer, World Rugby has announced.

The tournament will take place from June 26 to July 14 and will be contested by New Zealand, England, Canada, France and hosts USA. It will mark the first time the tournament has been held in three years.

The competition is increasing from four to five teams for this year’s edition, which will operate under a round-robin model. Teams will play each other once, with two games per day on June 26, July 2, July 10 and July 14.

Each team will use one match date as a bye, with the first four rounds taking place at the Elite Athlete Training Centre and the final round to be held at Torero Stadium.

The Super Series was last hosted by the US in 2016, when Canada won the title and England finished as runners-up.

World Rugby chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “As part of the women’s strategic plan, accelerating the global development of women in rugby, one of the key strands is to increase the competitiveness of international rugby across the women’s game. As part of the plan, World Rugby’s high-performance programme is committed to providing targeted investment and support in order to achieve this long-term objective.”

Most recent

Budapest has turned the setback of its unsuccessful 2024 Olympics bid into an opportunity that is driving growth and change across the city.

Matt Carroll, chief executive of the Australian Olympic Committee, tells Adam Nelson how a focus on athlete engagement, grassroots participation and community schemes has helped to boost the AOC’s commercial programme throughout the Olympic cycle.

The decision by the ATP Council not to renew Chris Kermode's contract as ATP executive chairman and president caused surprise when it was announced in March. Ben Cronin speaks to the outgoing tennis chief about his record.

A Ukranian billionaire is funding the latest effort to turn swimming into a regular competitive professional sport and not just one of the most popular events at the Summer Olympics.