World Marathon Majors expands with wheelchair series

The Abbott World Marathon Majors (AWMM) series has announced that it will expand to include elite wheelchair racing.

For the first time, a male and female winner will be determined over a 12-month period based on scoring earned via results from six races in Tokyo, Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York. The two winners will be awarded $50,000 (€46,000) each.

“These athletes compete at the highest levels, and it’s time for us to formally recognise the achievements of wheelchair athletes,” AWMM general manager Tim Hadzima said. “Our objective, and that of our title sponsor, Abbott, is to elevate marathoning across the globe by advancing and promoting all aspects of our great sport.”

Paralympic Games and International Paralympic Committee Athletics World Championships races, when scheduled, will also count as part of the series.

Ryan Montgomery, the head of IPC Athletics, said: “This is another major milestone in the global development and promotion of para-athletics. Wheelchair marathon races are amongst the most exciting and competitive in the world and on behalf of the athletes I would like to thank AWMM for their support in making this become a reality.”

Most recent

IMG Licensing says it has secured contracts with 25 Japanese licensees and 21 global licensees for this year’s Rugby World Cup in Japan. Ben Cronin reports.

Tom Hill, chief commercial officer, World Rugby speaks exclusively to SportBusiness about the commercial programme for the 2019 World Cup in Japan

Browning has marred thousands of once-valuable autographed baseballs, with the precise cause of the damage still unknown. Dennis Tuttle examines the impact on the baseball collectibles market

Dead since 1995, the revered Hall of Famer still commands a lofty position among baseball memorabilia collectors