HomeNewsEventsUS College SportUSA

College Football Playoff to expand to 12 teams

(Dylan Buell/Getty Images)

The College Football Playoff’s Board of Managers voted on September 2 to expand the CFP from four teams to 12 beginning in 2026.

The CFP Board of Managers is made up of 11 university presidents and chancellors. That board approved a 12-team model with the six highest-ranked conference champions and six at-large teams competing, representing a seismic shift to one of the most popular events in all of North American sports.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here