HomeNewsBusinessAmerican FootballEurope

New American football league launches in Europe

The European Federation of American Football (EFAF) has launched a new top-flight league starting from next year to include six teams hailing from Germany, Switzerland and Austria.

The Big 6 Europe league will begin in May with teams Raiffeisen Vikings Vienna, Swarco Raiders Tirol, Calanda Broncos, Berlin Adler, New Yorker Lions and Dresden Monarchs. The six clubs will be split into two groups to eventually face in the season-ending Eurobowl.

Since 2009, none of these teams have lost a game in in the European Football League (EFL), except in direct competition with each other. The last eleven Eurobowls since 2003 have been won by teams now belonging to the Big 6 Europe.

However, the number of participants in the new league plans to increase as soon other EFL teams are competitive on the same level as the Big 6. The regular EFL with a championship game called EFL-Bowl will co-exist under the governance of EFAF.