HomeNewsBusinessAmerican FootballUSA

Freedom Football League becomes third new spring-season gridiron league

The spring-season American football calendar is getting ever more crowded, as the Freedom Football League joins the rebooted XFL and the Alliance of American Football.

The FFL has been founded by coalition of 50 former players – including Ricky Williams, Terrell Owens and Simeon Rice – “who are committed to reimagining, rethinking, reinventing and reforming professional American football”.

The first 10 teams will be the San Diego Warriors, Oklahoma City Power, Portland Progress,  Texas Revolution, Ohio Players, Florida Strong, Birmingham Kings, St. Louis Independence, Connecticut Underground and Oakland Panthers.

It has not yet been determined which cities the Texas Revolution, Ohio Players, Florida Strong and Connecticut Underground will play in.

The league will play during the spring and summer – though it is unclear from when – and be financed by a combination of private funding and public offerings.

Players will notably be encouraged to “address society’s challenges relating to social justice, wealth disparity, health and wellness and more hot-button issues they are passionate about”.


Most recent

Browning has marred thousands of once-valuable autographed baseballs, with the precise cause of the damage still unknown. Dennis Tuttle examines the impact on the baseball collectibles market

Dead since 1995, the revered Hall of Famer still commands a lofty position among baseball memorabilia collectors

Callum McCarthy looks at the various ways in which lesser-known European host cities are benefiting from staging a variety of international esports competitions.

Adam Nelson reports on how the International Cricket Council revamped its broadcast coverage ahead of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, focusing on storytelling to attract new audiences and break digital engagement records