Major League Lacrosse relocates Atlanta franchise to Philadelphia

Major League Lacrosse announced the reformation of the Philadelphia Barrage, on the day after the league confirmed that the Atlanta Blaze would not operate for the 2020 season.

Blaze players, who are contracted with the league under its new single-entity model, will now play for the Barrage, which last played in MLL in 2008 before folding. It has not been announced where the team will play.

“We are proud that the Barrage are back in Philadelphia,” said MLL commissioner Sandy Brown. “Rooting ourselves in Philadelphia allows MLL to tap into one of the largest youth lacrosse markets in the country and offer these young fans the opportunity to see the highest level of play in lacrosse all summer long.”

In a similar move, last week MLL announced the formation of the Connecticut Hammerheads shortly after announcing it would not operate the Dallas Rattlers for the 2020 season.

As things stand, the MLL will have six teams in 2020: Boston Cannons, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Connecticut Hammerheads, Denver Outlaws, New York Lizards and Philadelphia Barrage.