HomeNewsEventsUS College SportUSA

Hard Rock Stadium to host 2026 CFP championship game

Hard Rock Stadium, the home of the National Football League's Miami Dolphins, has added to its expansive portfolio of events after being awarded the 2026 College Football Playoff Championship Game.

The event, which will take place on January 5, 2026, will be the 22nd college football national championship hosted in South Florida, and the second since the CFP era began in 2014.

Atlanta, Georgia, and the city's Mercedes-Benz Stadium meanwhile, are set to host the 2025 CFP Championship Game, similarly reviving a site also used for the 2018 event. A press conference announcing the Atlanta selection is set for August 16 and will involve Georgia Governor Brian Kemp and Atlanta Mayor Andre Dickens.

Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens also hosted the 2021 CFP National Championship between Alabama and Ohio State, though attendance then was limited due to the adverse impact of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The announcement comes just a few months after Hard Rock Stadium was named a host site for the 2026 Fifa World Cup. The venue also stages the Miami Open and Formula 1 Miami Grand Prix.

“We are truly honored that the College Football Playoff would select Miami as the site of the 2026 CFP National Championship,” said Jack Seiler, chair of the 2026 Host Committee. “Our region is a premier destination for major sporting events, and we are excited to have South Florida shine in the national spotlight once again.

"Following our successful hosting of the 2021 CFP National Championship through the unprecedented challenges presented by Covid-19, we immediately became focused on the next viable opportunity to once again bring college football’s most prestigious event back to our community with a complete championship experience and a capacity crowd at the spectacular Hard Rock Stadium," Seiler said.

The 2023 game will be played at SoFi Stadium near Los Angeles, California, and the 2024 event will take place at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas.

The College Football Playoff will remain in its current, four-team format through at least the duration of its current media rights deal, extending through the 2025-26 season.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here