Conmebol confirms Argentina and Colombia as joint hosts for new-look 2020 Copa América

The South American Football Confederation (Conmebol) has confirmed that Argentina and Colombia will serve as joint hosts of the 2020 Copa América.

The news comes as no surprise, as Conmebol provisionally selected the joint bid last month. It has now made that decision official and awarded the hosting rights to the two countries.

Argentina and Colombia will host two groups apiece, with the ten Conmebol nations being split geographically into a North Zone – based in Colombia and featuring Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru and an invited team – and South Zone – led by Argentina alongside Chile, Uruguay, Paraguay, Bolivia and another guest nation.

While the staging of the knock-out rounds has not been announced, the provisional plan unveiled last month suggested that each nation will host two quarter finals and a semi-final, with the final due to take place in the Argentinean capital of Buenos Aires.

The host cities and stadiums have yet to be selected by the national governing bodies.

The 2020 edition will mark a significant new era for the Copa América. It will return to a four-year cycle, with each edition taking place place two years before the Fifa World Cup, bringing the South American football calendar in line with Europe’s.

The 2019 edition, which kicks off in Brazil in June, will be the last to be held in the current two-year cycle, which sees the Copa América take place in the year immediately following the World Cup.

Most recent

Budapest has turned the setback of its unsuccessful 2024 Olympics bid into an opportunity that is driving growth and change across the city.

Matt Carroll, chief executive of the Australian Olympic Committee, tells Adam Nelson how a focus on athlete engagement, grassroots participation and community schemes has helped to boost the AOC’s commercial programme throughout the Olympic cycle.

The decision by the ATP Council not to renew Chris Kermode's contract as ATP executive chairman and president caused surprise when it was announced in March. Ben Cronin speaks to the outgoing tennis chief about his record.

A Ukranian billionaire is funding the latest effort to turn swimming into a regular competitive professional sport and not just one of the most popular events at the Summer Olympics.