Conmebol approves dates and cities for 2015 Copa América

The South American Football Confederation, Conmebol, has announced that the 2015 Copa América national football team tournament in Chile will run from June 11 to July 5.

Sergio Jadue, president of the Chilean Football Federation (ANPF) and vice-president of Conmebol, also announced that the eight host cities for the tournament would be Antofagasta, Valparaiso, La Serena, Viña del Mar, Concepción, Temuco, Rancagua and Santiago.

The tournament will take place in Chile after the ANPF reached an agreement with the Brazil Football Federation (CBF) in March 2012 to switch hosting rights. The 2015 Copa América had been due to take place in Brazil, but the country will now instead host the 2019 edition of the event.

At the time, the CBF said the staging of South America’s showpiece national team competition would place too much strain on the country’s resources due to it hosting other major sporting events. Having hosted the 2013 Fifa Confederations Cup last year, the 2014 Fifa World Cup national team event will also take place in Brazil this summer. Additionally, the 2016 Olympic Games will be hosted in Rio de Janeiro.