World Series of Boxing adds franchises in China, Morocco, Venezuela

The World Series of Boxing (WSB) will expand to 15 teams in 2015 with the addition of new franchises in China, Morocco and Venezuela.

The announcement was made ahead of the conclusion of the WSB Season IV Finals on Saturday in Baku, which featured the host team Azerbaijan Baku Fires being defeated by the Cuba Domadores. Following the conclusion of the fourth season of the WSB, the International Boxing Association (AIBA) is now looking ahead to the 2015 campaign.

“The WSB programme has overall significantly improved and expanded throughout these four seasons, and the great support from all franchises and participating national federations in this continuous development have been the keys to this success,” Ching-Kuo Wu, AIBA president and WSB chairman, said.

The three new franchises will add to teams based in Algeria, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Cuba, Germany, Italy, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Poland, Russia, Ukraine and the USA. In addition, the WSB said that expansion would lead to a new competition format and schedule, along with new PR and marketing strategies to enhance the overall revenues for the franchises and the series.

Improving the quality of television production has been made a priority. All host broadcasters in franchise countries will work closely with the WSB in order to provide the best quality television coverage for season five.