NCAA selects Final Four hosts

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has announced that Houston, Phoenix, San Antonio and Indianapolis will host the 2023 to 2026 editions of its Final Four end-of-season men’s basketball showpiece.

Houston’s NRG Stadium, home of the Texans NFL American football team, will host in 2023. The city has staged the event three times in the past, in 1971, 2011 and 2016.

University of Phoenix Stadium, the site for the 2017 tournament, will host in 2024. San Antonio’s Alamodome will host in 2025 before the Final Four heads to Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, home of the NCAA’s headquarters, the following year. San Antonio has hosted four times, including earlier this year when the Villanova Wildcats triumphed. Indianapolis has hosted seven times in the past, most recently in 2015.

Of the seven cities to bid for Final Four hosting rights, Dallas/Arlington, Detroit and Los Angeles missed out.

The next four hosts of the Final Four had previously been announced, with Lucas Oil Stadium having already been pencilled in to host in 2021. U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis will host next year, and Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta will be the host venue in 2020. The event then heads to Indianapolis in 2021 before New Orleans’ Mercedes-Benz Superdome hosts in 2022.