HomeNewsFinance & LawCricketSouth Africa

IPL owners ‘acquire all six teams’ in new South Africa-based T20 league

Action from the T20 match between India and South Africa in Rajkot. (Photo by Pankaj Nangia/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

All six teams in the new T20 league co-founded by Cricket South Africa (CSA) and pay-television broadcaster SuperSport have been acquired by Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise owners, according to reports.

Cricbuzz reports that CSA received 29 expressions of interest from prospective owners ahead of the deadline last week. The highest bids came from the owners of the Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Lucknow Super Giants and Rajasthan Royals franchises in the IPL.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here