FISA elects Jean-Christophe Rolland as president

The International Rowing Federation (FISA) has elected Jean-Christophe Rolland of France as its new president, succeeding long-term head Denis Oswald.

Rolland received 117 of the 179 ballots cast by FISA member federations at the 2013 Ordinary Congress in Chungju, Korea, with the required absolute majority standing at 90 votes. Candidates John Boultbee (Australia) and Tricia Smith (Canada) received 50 and 12 votes, respectively.

The rowing Olympic medallist has worked for EDF, one of the world's leading electric utility companies, since 1993. He also managed EDF's sponsorship programme with the 2012 London organising committee for the Olympic Games (LOCOG).

Appointed to the FISA athletes’ commission in 1994, Rolland served as chair of the commission from 2002-11 and also on FISA's executive committee from 2004-11, at which time the FISA council appointed him as a co-opted member.

Rolland will assume the presidency in July 2014, when Oswald – president since 1989 – will step down from the position. Smith was also elected vice-president, winning 98 of a possible 178 votes against the incumbent vice-president Anita DeFrantz (USA).