DFB names Lahm as Euro 2024 leader

The German Football Association (DFB) has announced that former national team star Philipp Lahm will lead its local organising committee for Uefa Euro 2024, should it succeed in landing hosting rights to the national team tournament.

Germany is competing against Turkey for the right to stage Euro 2024, with Uefa to decide on the host at its Executive Committee meeting in Nyon on September 27. Former Bayern Munich player Lahm (pictured) retired from football last year having won 113 caps for Germany. The 34-year-old has served as an ambassador for the German bid.

DFB president Reinhard Grindel says: “The decision to bind Philipp Lahm to the association on a long-term basis has been taken in close coordination and with the broad approval of the DFB Executive Committee and representatives from the Bundesliga. As ambassador Philipp Lahm has so far done an outstanding and committed job and I am convinced that this will be the case beyond September 27.”

Lahm added: “From the beginning of my work as an ambassador for Euro 2024 my desire was to assume responsibility in the long term. As a national team player and most recently in my role as Euro ambassador, I have always come to know the DFB as a very professional player, which is why I am delighted to be part of this team. Together with the bid team in the coming weeks I will do my utmost to bring Euro 2024 to Germany.”

Euro 2024 would be the first major men’s national team tournament staged in Germany since the 2006 Fifa World Cup, an event that was considered a huge success but has ultimately since been overshadowed by investigations at home and in Switzerland into the bidding process.

In September 2017, the DFB cut a further four stadiums from its bid plan for Euro 2024, finalising a set of 10 venues for the tournament. This was the second set of cuts after an initial 18 venues came forward to play a part in the bid. The DFB settled on a final bid plan that includes Berlin (Olympiastadion), Dortmund (Signal Iduna Park), Düsseldorf (Esprit Arena), Frankfurt am Main (Commerzbank-Arena), Gelsenkirchen (Veltins-Arena), Hamburg (Volksparkstadion), Köln (RheinEnergieStadion), Leipzig (Red Bull Arena), München (Allianz Arena) and Stuttgart (Mercedes-Benz Arena).

Germany is competing against Turkey, which launched an unsuccessful bid to co-host Euro 2008 with Greece and then the 2012 tournament on its own. The country was also interested in bidding for Euro 2020 before Uefa opted to spread the tournament across 13 European cities.

West Germany hosted the tournament in 1988 before a unified Germany staged the 2006 World Cup.