HomeNewsGovernanceIce Hockey

Canadian Women’s Hockey League discontinues operations

The Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) has announced that it will discontinue operations on May 1.

The six-team league, which has hosted an annual competition since 2007, began paying its players in 2017, but has now released a statement explaining that “the business model has proven to be economically unsustainable.”

In its final season, the CWHL comprised four Canada-based teams in addition one each in the US and China. Last week’s Clarkson Cup Final boasted record viewership in Canada, with 175,000 fans tuning in to see the Calgary Inferno win its second title.

The NHL has contributed financially to the CWHL and its US-based rival, the National Women’s Hockey League (NWHL), which debuted in 2015.  The NWHL currently has five teams, all based in the northern United States.