HomeNewsStadiaAll SportsMalaysia

Malaysia sports ministry to investigate safety of sports stadiums

Malaysia’s Ministry of Youth and Sports minister Steven Sim said investigations will have to be made about claims that 13 stadiums in the country have failed safety standards.

Malaysian Fire and Rescue Department’s (JBPM) fire safety division building certification section Zamri Che Din was reported by local media as saying that the stadiums had failed to get certifications of compliance (CCC), due to non-compliance with safety regulations. The CCC determines if buildings meet safety standards in terms of wiring, security exits and early fire prevention.

Sim said: “We need to look into the matter first with the management of the respective stadiums, as well as with the fire department about what happened.”

According to hmetro.com.my, the stadiums without a CCC include: Darul Makmur Stadium, Pahang; Pasir Gudang Municipal Council Stadium, Johor; Tunku Abdul Rahman Stadium, Negeri Sembilan; Manjung Municipal Council Stadium, Perak; Sultan Muhammad IV Stadium, Kelantan; Tuanku Syed Putra Stadium, Perlis; City Stadium, Penang; Stadium Likas, Sabah State Stadium, Sarawak and Petaling Jaya City Council Stadium.

Alor Setar’s Darul Aman Stadium, the home stadium of Malaysia Super League club Kedah FA, is also listed among those without CCC certificates, as well as the Selayang Municipal Council Stadium and Sultan Ismail Nasiruddin Shah Stadium in Terengganu.

According to reports provided by the JBPM, only eight major sporting stadiums in Malaysia have a CCC: Bukit Jalil National Stadium, Kuala Lumpur Football Stadium, Tan Sri Dato ‘Haji Hassan Yunos Stadium, Johor; Hang Jebat Stadium, Malacca; Tun Abdul Razak Stadium, Jengka; Ipoh Stadium, Shah Alam Stadium and UiTM Shah Alam Stadium.