HomeNewsEventsMotorsportHong Kong

Hong Kong secures Formula E race deal

Hong Kong is set to make a belated entrance to the Formula E electric auto racing championship after organisers said it would join the race calendar for season three.

Hong Kong was initially due to be part of Formula E’s inaugural 2014-15 season, only for its race plans to be dropped. The Asian territory will now host its first race on October 9, 2016, subject to the circuit plans for the central district of Hong Kong receiving approval from the International Automobile Federation (FIA).

Formula E chief executive Alejandro Agag said: “The Hong Kong ePrix will be one of the highlights on the FIA Formula E Championship calendar. As one of the most innovative, cutting-edge and fun-loving cities in the world, Hong Kong and Formula E share many of the same qualities. We look forward to bringing all the fun and entertainment of Formula E to this amazing city, and international motorsport back to Hong Kong.”

Lawrence Yu Kam-Kee, president of the Hong Kong Automobile Association (HKAA), added: “I would like to thank the Hong Kong Government, and particularly the Tourism Commission, for their support in helping to make the Hong Kong ePrix a reality. The street circuit will showcase our city to millions around the world, and demonstrate that Hong Kong can stage a major international event of the very highest calibre. The Hong Kong ePrix will be far more than a race; it will be a celebration for the entire community.”

The 2015-16 Formula E season commences with the Chinese ePrix in Beijing on October 24. In July, Paris was confirmed as Monaco’s replacement for Formula E’s second season, with organisers stating they remain in talks to retain four races in the Americas after Miami lost its place on the 2015-16 calendar.

The 2014-15 Formula E season concluded with two races in London in June, following a debut campaign that took in events in Beijing, Putrajaya, Punta del Este, Buenos Aires, Miami, Long Beach, Monaco, Berlin and Moscow.

The 2015-16 Formula E campaign will again be made up of 11 races, hosted in 10 cities, with London hosting back-to-back races as the season finale once more. While the remainder of the calendar remains intact from season one, Miami’s exit provides an opening for a new race in the Americas.