Channel 4 snaps up Copa Libertadores

Channel 4 will air weekly 30 to 60 minutes highlights programmes on Sunday mornings throughout the tournament from February 1 through to the final in July, and 22 live matches from the second round knockout stages from April onwards.

Copa Libertadores features 36 clubs from the 10 countries representing South America – Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Colombia, Paraguay, Chile, Peru, Ecuador, Venezuela and Bolivia – and two clubs from Mexico.

Copa Libertadores’ international television rights are owned by Traffic Sports Marketing of Brazil with UK rights distribution handled by RDA Communications in London.