World Boxing Super Series expands for second season

Comosa, organiser and owner of the World Boxing Super Series, has confirmed the event will expand for its second season with the addition of a bantamweight division.

The move will boost the number of eight-man, single-elimination tournaments in the series from two to three.

Three current bantamweight world champions, Ryan Burnett (pictured) (WBA), Manny Rodriguez (IBF) and Zolani Tete (WBO) are the first confirmed fighters for the bantamweight division, with a further five to be added over the coming weeks.

Super middleweight and cruiserweight divisions have both featured in the inaugural season and although Comosa is yet to confirm which divisions will be included in the second edition, ESPN reported that junior welterweight and heavyweight are both being considered.

Kalle Sauerland, chief boxing officer at Comosa, said: “After a fantastic first season with super middleweight and cruiserweight, we have decided that bigger is better. So we are going out with three divisions in our second season.

“We are delighted to have three champions agreed to go into the bantamweight tournament. Burnett, Rodriguez and Tete represent three continents, they represent what the World Boxing Super Series is all about and we cannot wait to see these amazing athletes compete for the Muhammad Ali Trophy.”