HomeNewsEventsGolfUnited Kingdom

Women’s British Open heads to Royal Troon for first time

Hosting rights for the 2019 and 2020 editions of the Women’s British Open golf major have been assigned to Woburn Golf Club and Royal Troon, respectively.

Buckinghamshire’s Woburn Golf Club has hosted the event on 10 occasions in the past, most recently in 2016. Royal Troon, which is located in the Scottish town of Troon, has never staged the tournament before.

The Women’s British Open is one of five major tournaments in the women’s game. The 2018 edition is currently taking place at Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club in Lancashire and concludes on Sunday.

Woburn boasts three championship golf courses and has held a range of men’s European Tour and Senior Tour events in the past. Royal Troon has hosted the men’s Open on nine occasions, most recently in 2016 when Henrik Stenson of Sweden triumphed. The course has also staged the Senior Open Championship, Amateur Championship and Ladies Amateur Championship.

The 2016 Women’s British Open marked the first edition to be played on Woburn’s Marquess Course. The nine previous editions that were staged at Woburn were held on the Duke’s Course. Woburn forms part of the Woburn Estate, which is home to the Duke of Bedford.

Chairman of the Championship Committee, Clive Brown, said: “We are very much looking forward to returning to Woburn next year after the success of 2016. Royal Troon has one of the most impressive resumés of championships hosted of any world-renowned golf club but their determination and enthusiasm to host the Women’s British Open shows just how prestigious the Women’s British Open has become in world golf.”

The Women’s British Open was founded by the Ladies’ Golf Union (LGU) in 1976 and has been staged in conjunction with the IMG agency since 1984. The event has been co-sanctioned by the Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) and Ladies European Tour (LET) since 1994 and gained major status in 2001.