Venues confirmed for inaugural standalone Women’s World Twenty20

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that Antigua and Barbuda, Guyana and St Lucia will be the venues for the 2018 Women’s World Twenty20, the first edition of the national team tournament to be held on a standalone basis.

The competition will be held from November 9-24 with the West Indies seeking to defend the title they won with an eight-wicket victory over Australia in Kolkata, India in 2016.

The three venues were selected by Cricket West Indies through a bidding process and have been ratified by the ICC. The preliminary round matches will be held at the Guyana National Stadium and Daren Sammy Stadium in St Lucia, while Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda will stage the two semi-finals and the final.

The Jamaica Observer newspaper said an initial 11 venues were inspected by an ICC delegation in October. It added that Kensington Oval in Barbados, which hosted the 2010 World Twenty20 finals, misses out after the failure of the Government and the Barbados Cricket Association to agree on the submission of a bid.

Trinidad and Tobago also did not submit a bid, leaving the historic Queen's Park Oval and the newly constructed Brian Lara Stadium without matches. 

ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2018 tournament director, Jennifer Nero, said: “We are excited to be hosting the very first stand-alone ICC Women's World T20. This will add to the established passion for women's cricket throughout our region. This is significant not just for the advancement of the sport of cricket but also for the potential for sharing with the world the many irresistible offerings of the beautiful countries of the West Indies.”

ICC chief executive David Richardson added: “We are keen to build on the momentum from this summer’s Women’s World Cup and I’m sure the players can rely on a warm welcome from the legendary cricket fans in the West Indies and we’re all in for a great experience in the Caribbean.”

The hosts will be joined by Australia, world champions England, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka, who have all achieved qualification. The remaining two spots will be taken by Bangladesh, Holland, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda or United Arab Emirates, all of whom will compete in the Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier in the Netherlands from July 3-14.

The Women’s World Twenty20 has previously been played alongside the men’s event.

Most recent

Browning has marred thousands of once-valuable autographed baseballs, with the precise cause of the damage still unknown. Dennis Tuttle examines the impact on the baseball collectibles market

Dead since 1995, the revered Hall of Famer still commands a lofty position among baseball memorabilia collectors

Callum McCarthy looks at the various ways in which lesser-known European host cities are benefiting from staging a variety of international esports competitions.

Adam Nelson reports on how the International Cricket Council revamped its broadcast coverage ahead of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, focusing on storytelling to attract new audiences and break digital engagement records