HomeNewsEventsMotorsportNorth America

United SportsCar series reveals debut calendar

The International Motor Sports Association (IMSA) has revealed a 12-race schedule for the 2014 debut season of its Tudor United SportsCar Championship.

Running from January 25 to October 4, the 2014 merger championship features four race tracks currently on the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series schedule, four that are on the current American Le Mans Series schedule and four that are on both series' 2013 calendars.

The series will begin at the Daytona International Speedway, before visiting the Sebring International Raceway; Long Beach; Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca; Detroit Belle Isle; Watkins Glen International; Canadian Tire Motorsport Park; Indianapolis Motor Speedway; Road America; Virginia International Raceway; Circuit of The Americas; and Road Atlanta.

IMSA CEO Ed Bennett said: "We have created a premium schedule for sports car fans, taking our new championship to some of the best road racing facilities in North America. Our event line-up also underscores the co-operative spirit of the merger between the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series and the American Le Mans Series.”