Uefa hits Bursaspor and CFR Cluj with bans and fines

Uefa has issued penalties to Turkish club Bursaspor, Romanian duo CFR 1907 Cluj and FC Astra Giurgiu, and Lithuanian team FK Ekranas in the latest punishments handed out by European football’s governing body through its Financial Fair Play (FFP) regulations.

The Uefa Club Financial Control Body (CFCB) adjudicatory chamber has taken decisions in the cases of the four clubs that had been referred to it by the acting CFCB chief investigator, due to the presence of overdue payables.

Bursaspor, Turkish Super Lig champions in 2009-10, has seen the suspended exclusion imposed by the Court of Arbitration in Sport (CAS) in 2012 come into effect. The Bursa-based club is therefore excluded from participating in the next Uefa club competition for which it would otherwise qualify in the four seasons from 2015-16 to 2018-19.

The exclusion applies unless the club is able to prove by January 31 that the amounts that were identified as overdue payables on September 30 have been paid. The club has also been fined €100,000 ($124,000), half of which is suspended and will only become due if the club is not able to prove by the January deadline that it has paid its overdue payables.

CFR 1907 Cluj, which had risen to prominence to win its first Romanian Liga 1 title in 2007-08 and on two subsequent occasions in 2009-10 and 2011-12, has been issued with a three season ban from Uefa competitions. The ban will commence from 2015-16 unless it can settle its overdue payables by January 31. Cluj has also been fined €150,000.

FC Astra Giurgiu, which finished as runner-up in the Liga 1 in 2013-14, has been hit with the same penalty as Cluj, but with a lesser fine of €100,000.

Finally, Lithuanian A Lyga outfit FK Ekranas has been banned outright from the 2015-16 and 2016-17 Uefa club seasons and has been fined €15,000.