Three new Asian members appointed to IOC

South Korean Kee Heung Lee, Indonesian Erick Thohir and Indian Narinder Batra were among the 10 new members elected to the International Olympic Committee yesterday, at the organisation’s ongoing session in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Kee Heung Lee is the president of the Korean Sport and Olympic Committee. Erick Thohir is the president of the Indonesian Olympic Committee, and also the former owner of Serie A football club Inter Milan. Dr. Narinder Dhruv Batra is the president of the Indian Olympic Association, and was previously the president of the International Hockey Federation.

The other new members elected to the committee were: Spyros Capralos, president of the Hellenic Olympic Committee; Laura Chinchilla, a former president of Costa Rica; Tidjane Thiam, the chief executive of Swiss bank Credit Suisse; Odette Assembe Engoulou, a Cameroonian sports administrator; Matlohang Moiloa-Ramoqopo, head of the Lesotho National Olympic Committee; Filomena Fortes, president of the Cape Verde Olympic Committee; and Mustapha Berraf, head of the African Olympic Committees Association (ANOCA).

The new members had been put forward for election by the IOC Members Election Commission. The IOC said the criteria considered for their selection included: “their expertise in different domains (including medical, sociological, cultural, political, business, legal and sports management expertise), in addition to geographic and gender balance”. The appointments take the committee to 105 members in total.