Three countries in contention to host inaugural Nations League Finals

Italy, Poland and Portugal are set to contend hosting rights for the finals of the inaugural Uefa Nations League, a new tournament for national team friendly matches organised by football’s European governing body.

The three countries have been drawn together in Group 3 of League A, which features the 12 highest-ranked teams in Europe.

The four winners of the top-tier groups will progress to the finals stage, which is scheduled for June 5-9, 2019. Uefa confirmed that the Italian Football Association (FIGC), Polish Football Federation (PZPN) and Portuguese Football Federation (FPF) expressed an interest in hosting the event by the deadline put forward by the governing body.

The three associations will now be provided with the bid requirements and have until August 31 to submit their proposals. The eventual host country will be confirmed in December.

The finals will be held in two stadia with a net seating capacity of at least 30,000. Uefa said the venues would preferably be located in the same host city or up to approximately 150km apart. The venues will be confirmed with the submission of the bid dossiers.

The other teams in League A of the Nations League are Germany, France and Netherlands, which make up Group 1; Belgium, Switzerland and Iceland, which are in Group 2; and Spain, England and Croatia, who have been placed in Group 4.

The four teams that finish bottom of the groups will be relegated to League B for the 2020-21 Nations League. The top four-ranked League A teams that do not qualify for Euro 2020 will enter the play-offs for the tournament in March 2020, with one spot up for grabs.

Uefa had agreed in principle that one of the winners of the four League A groups would go on to host the finals.