HomeNewsFinance & LawFootballEurope

Sporting and FC Porto among eight clubs hit with FFP punishments

Matheus Nunes of Sporting CP battles for possession with Emre Can of Borussia Dortmund during the UEFA Champions League match on November 24, 2021 (by Octavio Passos/Getty Images)

Portuguese Primeira Liga giants Sporting and FC Porto are among six clubs who have been threatened with bans from European competition as part of the latest raft of Financial Fair Play sanctions issued by Uefa.

The newly-established First Chamber of the Uefa Club Financial Control Body (CFCB First Chamber) has announced that eight clubs in total – Sporting and Porto, plus fellow Portuguese team CD Santa Clara; Spanish LaLiga club Real Betis; FC Astana (Kazakhstan); CFR 1907 Cluj (Romania), CSKA-Sofia (Bulgaria); and Mons Calpe SC (Gibraltar), have been sanctioned due to non-compliance with the “no overdue payables” requirement.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here