South Korea to debut AFC’s new Women’s Club Championship

Melbourne Victory pose with the 2018-19 W-League's Premiers Plate (by Mark Evans/Getty Images)

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has announced that South Korea will host the inaugural edition of its Women’s Club Championship.

The AFC confirmed the formation of the new tournament in September, with the first edition to be run as a pilot event in association with world governing body Fifa from November 26-30.

Australia’s Melbourne Victory, Nippon TV Beleza from Japan, China’s Jiangsu Suning and the host nation’s Incheon Hyundai Steel Red Angels will become the first clubs to take part.

The four teams will compete in a round-robin format over three match days, with the eventual group winner lifting the trophy.

AFC president Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa said: “Women’s football has always been an integral area of development for the AFC and the remarkable success of our teams underlines the incredible strides Asia continues to make in women’s football globally.

“Competitions is one of the major drivers of development and the Women’s Club Championship reinforces our commitment to further strengthen the foundations for the women’s game in Asia to scale even greater heights.

“Our ambition is to see more teams and more member associations build on our strong momentum as we strive to ensure our women’s teams and players continue to be world-class.”