Sailing Champions League adds Asia Pacific competition

Image credit: Sailing Champions League

The Sailing Champions League and the National Sailing League have launched the ‘Sailing Champions League – Asia Pacific’ concept following the success of the competition in Europe.

The new competition will create a pathway for Asia Pacific sailing clubs to compete on the world stage, with qualifying rounds to be launched to provide entry to a final that will be held at Sydney Harbour from April 3-5 next year. The final will replace the NSL Oceania Final.

The top-three clubs from the Sailing Champions League – Asia Pacific Final will gain entry to the European final for a “club versus club” battle.

The new series will be run by the organisers of the NSL – Oceania, which launched in April with a three-day final event. The winner of the event was Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron (RSYS), which went on to win the Sailing Champions League Final in Switzerland.

Asia Pacific League director Mark Turnbull said: “We are very excited with the enthusiasm shown towards league sailing in our region, and this was substantially heightened by RSYS winning at St Moritz. To expand to Asia Pacific in our second season is huge, and we look forward to the participation of six Asian clubs joining Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands for the upcoming season.

“The winner of the inaugural NSL Oceania Final taking out the prestigious Sailing Champions League – Final shows we have the talent in this part of the world. Expanding beyond Australian and New Zealand shores means more sailors can enjoy step-on step-off fleet racing on supplied one design boats.

“We look forward to creating Sailing Champions League – Asia Pacific qualifiers in both Oceania and Asia in the 2021 season as we ultimately aim to create multiple club and National Sailing Leagues.”

The 2020 Sailing Champions League – Asia Pacific season will include one northern and one southern qualifier. The six clubs that gain entry from these qualifiers into the 2020 SCL Asia Pacific Final will be joined by a further six from Asia, while six from New Zealand and the Pacific will also be invited to compete.

In 2021, it is hoped Asian and Pacific qualifying regattas will be added to the circuit.