HomeNewsEventsRugby UnionAustralia

Rugby World Cup hosting rights ratified for Australia, USA and England

Sydney Harbour Bridge is lit in support of Rugby Australia's 2027 and 2029 Rugby World Cup bids, on May 12, 2022 (by Brett Hemmings/Getty Images for Rugby Australia)

World Rugby has today (Thursday) confirmed that the five editions of the various men’s and women’s Rugby World Cup tournaments spanning 2025 to 2033 will be held in England, Australia and the USA, respectively, with a new model formed.

At its Annual Meeting in Dublin, the World Rugby Council unanimously approved the staging of Rugby World Cups in the following countries:

  • England to host Rugby World Cup 2025 (women’s)
  • Australia to host Rugby World Cup 2027 (men’s) and 2029 (women’s)
  • USA to host Rugby World Cup 2031 (men’s) and 2033 (women’s)
The future destinations of World Rugby’s showpiece national team tournaments have been solidified over recent months. It was revealed last month that Australia was poised to host the women’s Rugby World Cup for the first time in 2029 after being named the ‘preferred candidate’ for the event by World Rugby. The nomination meant Australia was set to host the men’s Rugby World Cup in 2027, followed by the women’s edition in 2029. The country was in November named the preferred candidate for the men’s tournament.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here