Munich and St. Petersburg to contest 2021 Champions League final

The 2021 Uefa Champions League final will be played in either Munich or St. Petersburg after European football’s governing body detailed the bidders for that year’s club competition finals.

In total, nine national associations submitted bids by a deadline of February 15, with either the Allianz Arena, home of German Bundesliga club Bayern Munich, or Gazprom Arena, home to Russian Premier League outfit Zenit St. Petersburg, to stage the finale to the 2020-21 Champions League.

That season’s Europa League final will be contested by the Dinamo Arena in Tbilisi, Georgia, the home stadium of Dinamo Tbilisi, and the Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán in Seville, Spain, home of Sevilla FC. Uefa has received four bids for the 2021 Super Cup – Dinamo Stadium in Minsk, Belarus; Olympic Stadium in Helsinki, Finland; Windsor Park in Belfast, Northern Ireland and Metalist Stadium in Kharkiv, Ukraine.

The 2021 Women’s Champions League final appears set for the Gamla Ullevi in Gothenburg, Sweden as it faces no other competition. The Uefa Executive Committee will select the successful host associations for the finals of the Europa League, Women’s Champions League and Super Cup on May 29. The decision on the Champions League final will be made in September, although Uefa said the bidding process will not be reopened and remains reserved to the registered bidders.

In May, Uefa announced that the Atatürk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul, Turkey, will host the 2020 Champions League final. The announcement was made ahead of the 2017-18 Champions League final in Kiev. This year’s final will be held at Atlético Madrid’s Wanda Metropolitano stadium.

Uefa also announced that Arena Gdańsk in Poland will host the Europa League final in 2020. The final of the 2017-18 Europa League took place in Lyon, France and this year’s final will be held at the Olympic Stadium in Baku, Azerbaijan.

Uefa has opened the bidding process for the 2022 and 2023 Champions League finals, with the hosts also to be announced in September. The deadline for bids has been set as March 22.

Most recent

Formula One is likely to implement virtual advertising more widely in its global broadcast feed following its sponsorship and data rights partnership with ISG. But the sport needs to be careful not to fall foul of broadcast regulations concerning product placement. Ben Cronin reports

German football has earned praise for its blend of ideological purity and commercial nous, but calls to reform restrictions on private ownership and investment are growing. With the Bundesliga’s media rights coming to market, Callum McCarthy explores how the league’s commercial performance over the next 18 months could shape its long-term future.

Paul Rabil, who, with his brother Mike, started up the Premier Lacrosse League in the US, talks to Bob Williams about how they plan to make a success of the new league and about the challenges of setting up a new sports league from scratch.

After suffering early growing pains, the Big3 basketball league appears to have found its feet ahead of its third season this summer. Bob WIlliams reports.