Moustafa secures IHF re-election, spells out Americas action plan

Hassan Moustafa has been re-elected as president of the International Handball Federation (IHF), as he spelled out plans to revamp the sport’s governance in the Americas in a bid to boost its development in the region.

The 73-year-old Egyptian has led the IHF since 2000 and was re-elected unopposed for a fresh term through to 2021 at the governing body’s ordinary congress in Antalya, Turkey on Saturday.

Moustafa (pictured) used the congress to put forward a motion to split the Pan American Team Handball Federation (PATHF) into the North America and the Caribbean Handball Confederation, and the South and Central America Handball Confederation.

Ten key points were laid out to support the move, which included financial savings and a reduction in logistical demands through reduced travel demands for tournaments in the region. The IHF said: “The North American market is especially decisive for the development of handball worldwide and for the position of handball worldwide.

“North America is the key market for receiving status and income related to the Olympic Games. A development in North America will strengthen the position of handball in the IOC (International Olympic Committee) and at the Olympic Games and will guarantee that handball stays on the Olympic Programme and that beach handball can be added as a discipline.”

It was decided that the IHF Council will take the final decision on this motion. Meanwhile a number of hosting announcements were made in Antalya. The 2020 Women’s Junior (U20) World Championship was awarded to Romania, while the 2021 Men’s Youth (U19) World Championship was assigned to Greece.

The 2021 Men's Junior (U21) World Championship was awarded to Hungary with the understanding that the Hungarian Handball Federation will work to reduce the per-day cost for participating teams.

The formal proceedings began on Saturday with the confirmation of five new IHF member federations. Fiji, Timor-Leste and Jamaica were all granted full membership; with Scotland and England awarded associated membership.