MLS play-offs format overhauled for 2019

Major League Soccer has unveiled significant changes to its play-offs, expanding the number of teams taking part while also speeding up the format.

Fourteen of the league’s 24 teams will qualify for the post-season next year, up from 12 in 2018, while two-legged qualifiers will be replaced with a new single-game elimination format.

It means the play-offs will take place entirely between the October and November Fifa international windows, beginning on October 19 and ending on November 10 in 2019. This year’s MLS Cup final, by contrast, took place on December 8.

In addition, the higher-seed team – based on the regular-season final standings – will host every match, with the top seed in each conference receiving a first-round bye.

The new format allows the play-offs to finish before the the 2022 World Cup, which begins on November 21 that year.

Most recent

After launching in Miami this spring, the Sports Decision Makers Summit – from SportBusiness and Sportel – came to London's Rosewood hotel on July 9-10. This is what we learned from our expert speakers. W

Liverpool FC decided to arrange its own tour of the United States this summer, rather than compete in the pre-season International Champions Cup, because the club preferred to be "independent" and have more freedom to arrange opponents, dates and venues.

As the Tour de France moves towards its conclusion in Paris, Kevin Roberts talks to Ralph Denk, team manager of the German Bora-Hansgrohe team about the business of running and funding an international cycling outfit.

As France's Ligue 1 is staging a four-team tournament in Washington DC this week, Bob Williams looks at how it aims to expand its reach into the US and improve overseas media-rights income.