MLS-Liga MX Leagues Cup to expand to 16 teams in 2020

The Leagues Cup – a new mid-season competition featuring teams from Major League Soccer and Liga MX – will expand from eight to 16 teams in 2020.

The eight MLS participants in the Concacaf-sanctioned tournament will be determined by the top four teams in each of the 2019 Eastern Conference and Western Conference regular-season standings who are not participating in the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League.

The eight Liga MX teams will include the 2019 Apertura champion, 2020 Clausura champion, 2019-20 Copa MX champion, and the next five best teams in the combined Apertura 2019-Clausura 2020 regular-season standings who have not already qualified for Leagues Cup.

ESPN is among the North American broadcasters of this year’s competition – which begins on July 23 – while the final will take place at the Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada on Sept. 18.

The Leagues Cup is the second competition between MLS and Liga MX teams that has been established in the last two seasons. Last year, the Campeonas Cup debuted in September pitting the previous season’s winners of both leagues in a one-off match.

Most recent

Browning has marred thousands of once-valuable autographed baseballs, with the precise cause of the damage still unknown. Dennis Tuttle examines the impact on the baseball collectibles market

Dead since 1995, the revered Hall of Famer still commands a lofty position among baseball memorabilia collectors

Callum McCarthy looks at the various ways in which lesser-known European host cities are benefiting from staging a variety of international esports competitions.

Adam Nelson reports on how the International Cricket Council revamped its broadcast coverage ahead of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, focusing on storytelling to attract new audiences and break digital engagement records