MLS assigns Inter Miami to Eastern Conference, Nashville SC to Western Conference

Major League Soccer is splitting up its 2020 expansion teams, with Inter Miami assigned to the Eastern Conference and Nashville SC to the Western Conference.

The move ensures that both conferences will feature 13 teams.

It is likely, though, that Nashville SC could move to the Eastern Conference in the coming years with three teams geographically located further west – Austin FC (2021), Sacramento Republic FC (2022) and St. Louis (2022) – joining MLS in the coming years.

Due to expansion and MLS keeping a 34-match schedule, each team will not play every other team over the course of the regular season for the first time in league history.