Mexico City will be site of two NBA games next season

The NBA will hold two regular season games in Mexico City during the upcoming 2019-20 season.

The Dallas Mavericks will face the Detroit Pistons on 12 December at Arena Ciudad de Mexico, and the Phoenix Suns will then play the San Antonio Spurs on 14 December, marking the first time that four NBA teams will play in Mexico in a single regular season.

The 2019-20 season will mark the fourth successive campaign that the NBA has played regular season games in Mexico. The games will also mark the 29th and 30th played in Mexico since 1992, representing the most NBA games staged in any country outside the US and Canada.

Last season, the Orlando Magic played two games in Mexico City, facing Chicago and Utah.

“NBA games in Mexico City are a core part of our efforts to reach and engage basketball fans throughout Mexico and Latin America,” said Adam Silver, league commissioner.

Most recent

The Colonial Athletic Conference’s $4.5m streaming deal with FloSports is helping the conference to build audiences and close the gap on the Power 5. Eric Fisher reports.

Budapest has turned the setback of its unsuccessful 2024 Olympics bid into an opportunity that is driving growth and change across the city.

Matt Carroll, chief executive of the Australian Olympic Committee, tells Adam Nelson how a focus on athlete engagement, grassroots participation and community schemes has helped to boost the AOC’s commercial programme throughout the Olympic cycle.

The decision by the ATP Council not to renew Chris Kermode's contract as ATP executive chairman and president caused surprise when it was announced in March. Ben Cronin speaks to the outgoing tennis chief about his record.