Melbourne and Singapore confirmed as Para Swimming World Series stops

World Para Swimming has announced the calendar for its 2020 World Series, with events in seven cities on four continents.

The calendar was confirmed as:

  • Melbourne – February 14 to 16
  • Ligano Sabbiadoro (Italy) – February 27 to March 1
  • Sao Paolo – March 26 to 28
  • Sheffield – April 9 to 12
  • Indianapolis – April 16 to 18
  • Singapore – May 1 to 3
  • Berlin – June 18 to 21

All the cities in the 2020 calendar also hosted events this season. The 2019 season had 1,300 swimmers from 84 countries competing. The 2020 season will be the fourth edition of the series.

Announcing the calendar, Tracy Glassford, World Para Swimming senior manager, said: “The 2020 World Series will be the first to take place in a Paralympic Games year, offering swimmers from all over the world the chance to plan next season in advance and to compete in high-level events in preparation for Tokyo 2020.

“It will also give Para swimming fans the opportunity to start following the amazing athletes they will watch competing at the Paralympics.

“The next season will also be the first in which the series returns to the same countries that hosted them in the previous season. The World Series is now well established as a platform for new swimmers to come onto the international scene at the same time that it offers the world’s best athletes a more consistent competition calendar.”