Major League Pickleball names final two teams

The 2022 Margaritaville USA Pickleball Nationals Championships at Indian Wells Tennis Garden in November 2022 (Getty Images)

Major League Pickleball (MLP) has announced its final two teams to be added to the league, with the St. Louis Shock and Orlando Squeeze joining ahead of the 2023 tournament starting later this month.

The addition of the two new teams completes the expansion to 24 teams that the league announced in December. The Shock's ownership group is led by Richard Chaifetz and his son Ross, while Ryan DeVos is among the new owners of the Squeeze, adding to the A-list investors the league has accumulated. The DeVos family, who own the National Basketball League's Orlando Magic and Major League Soccer's Orlando City, recently invested in the newly formed Pro Volleyball Federation through ownership of a franchise in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

"As our family has seen over its 30+ years of stewardship with the Orlando Magic franchise, fans here love their teams and I’m excited to see the Squeeze added to that mix," Ryan DeVos said in a statement. "We’re also eager to join with MLP and its franchise ownership groups to connect with the millions of pickleball enthusiasts across the country and grow the sport even further."

MLP has also named four new corporate sponsors: Cirkul, Hospital for Special Surgery, Fromuth Pickleball, and Pickleball United, bringing the league's total sponsors for 2023 to 11.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here