HomeNewsBusinessOlympic Games

LA 2024 names Ruggiero as chief strategy officer

Los Angeles 2024 has strengthened its bid team for the Olympic and Paralympic Games with the appointment of International Olympic Committee (IOC) member Angela Ruggiero as its chief strategy officer.

Ruggiero was part of the US ice hockey team that won gold at the 1998 winter Games in Nagano, Japan. She went on to win silver medals at Salt Lake City in 2002 and Vancouver 2010, as well as bronze at Turin 2006.

Los Angeles-native Ruggiero will support LA 2024 in its efforts to leverage the Californian city's various assets to address the needs of the Olympic Movement’s Agenda 2020 initiative.

Ruggiero will take a place on the LA 2024 board of directors and be ineligible to vote for the 2024 host while Los Angeles is a candidate city. Also serving as a member of the US Olympic Committee (USOC), Ruggiero will recuse herself from all USOC board discussions and decisions concerning Los Angeles’ candidature.

The addition of Ruggiero comes after LA 2024 also announced the appointment of former Olympian and current IOC executive board member, Anita DeFrantz, as senior advisor for legacy.

LA 2024 chairman Casey Wasserman said: “The IOC’s Olympic Agenda 2020 reforms made clear that the Olympic Games need to provide athletes with the optimal Games experience while leaving a long-term legacy that benefits a city. We are convinced that LA 2024 is the embodiment of Olympic Agenda 2020 and we have no doubt that Angela’s addition to our team will help us in our aspiration to be the perfect partner for the Olympic Movement at this time.”

Ruggiero has been an IOC member since 2010, following her election by the world’s athletes to represent them on the IOC Athletes’ Commission and was later elected as vice-chair in 2014. Between 2011 and 2016 Ruggiero served as the chairperson of the Coordination Commission for the 2016 Lillehammer Youth Olympic Games. Ruggiero also has experience serving on both the Evaluation and Coordination Commissions for the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic winter Games.