HomeNewsEventsTable TennisAsia

ITTF announces host cities for second edition of T2 Diamond Table Tennis League

Singapore, Johor Bahru in Malaysia and the Chinese city of Haikou have been named as the three host cities for the 2019 T2 Diamond Table Tennis League.

This year’s season will be the second of the new competition, and will kick off in Johor Bahru from July 18-21, stopping in Haikou on September 26-29, with the final leg to be held in Singapore from November 28 to December 1.

Jointly organised by the International Table Tennis Federation and Singapore-based table tennis events company T2, the pan-Asian league is being used to foster innovation in the sport, using a time-based match format to increase the pace of the game and playing in arena-style venues to attract larger crowds.

As well as a $1.5m total prize purse, the 2019 edition will also offer bonus world ranking points to all competitors, which will count towards qualification for next year’s Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Most recent

Browning has marred thousands of once-valuable autographed baseballs, with the precise cause of the damage still unknown. Dennis Tuttle examines the impact on the baseball collectibles market

Dead since 1995, the revered Hall of Famer still commands a lofty position among baseball memorabilia collectors

Callum McCarthy looks at the various ways in which lesser-known European host cities are benefiting from staging a variety of international esports competitions.

Adam Nelson reports on how the International Cricket Council revamped its broadcast coverage ahead of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, focusing on storytelling to attract new audiences and break digital engagement records