Indonesian Masters elevated to season-ending status on Asian Tour

The Indonesian Masters has today (Thursday) been confirmed as the new season-ending event for the 2017 season of golf’s Asian Tour.

The tournament will take place from December 14-17 at the Royale Jakarta Golf Club in the Indonesian capital and feature an overall prize purse of $750,000 (€633,300).

This year’s Indonesian Masters will now determine the final standings for the 2017 Asian Tour and also feature the crowning of the Asian Tour Order of Merit winner. The player that clinches this title will receive an exemption into next year’s The Open Championship and the World Golf Championship – Mexico Championship.

In addition, the Indonesian Masters will serve as the third leg of the Panasonic Swing, an aggregate points race of five events where Asian Tour players can earn a share of a lucrative bonus pool.

Jimmy Masrin, founder of the Indonesian Masters and chairman of the Asian Tour, said: “This year promises to be the biggest and best Indonesian Masters and a thrilling finale to the season. The tournament has quickly grown to become one of the premier events in the region and an exciting future lies ahead.”

The Indonesian Masters will be joint-sanctioned with the PGA Tour of Indonesia (PGATI). Poom Saksansin of Thailand won the 2016 edition of the Indonesian Masters after finishing five strokes ahead of his closest rivals. England’s Lee Westwood (pictured) has won the tournament a record three times, in 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Johannes Dermawan, chairman of PGATI, said: “The event has done wonders to help develop the landscape of professional golf in our country. It regularly attracts an outstanding field which is so important in helping to inspire our new generation of golfers and in allowing Indonesia to establish itself as a golfing force.”

The 2016 Asian Tour season closed with the Hong Kong Open.