India to stage 2014 Champions League T20

India has been announced as the host of the 2014 Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20), with $6m (€4.4m) in prize money on offer for this year’s edition of the annual cricket tournament.

The sixth CLT20, which gathers the world’s leading Twenty20 teams, will run from September 13 to October 4. Reigning Indian Premier League champion Kolkata Knight Riders will take on fellow IPL team Chennai Super Kings in the opening group game at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad on September 17.

The tournament will follow a format similar to the three previous editions, with a group stage preceded by a qualifying event. A total of 29 matches will be played in the competition, with group stage matches hosted in Mohali, Bengaluru, Hyderabad and Raipur. Bengaluru will stage the final on October 4.

India has hosted each edition of the CLT20 with the exception of the 2010 and 2012 events, which took place in South Africa. The competition is organised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).