Hungarian city to host EuroLeague Women Final Four

The International Basketball Federation (Fiba) has confirmed that the Hungarian city of Sopron will host the 2018 edition of the EuroLeague Women Final Four.

The end-of-season event will take place from April 20-22 and feature host team Sopron, as well as Russian clubs UMMC Ekaterinburg and Dynamo Kursk and Turkish outfit Yakin Dogu Universitesi.

Reigning champion Dynamo Kursk will face UMMC Ekaterinburg in one of two semi-finals on the Friday, with Sopron playing Yakin Dogu Universitesi on the same day.

Kamil Novak, executive director for Europe at Fiba, said: “Sopron is a city with a strong women’s basketball culture. The Hungarian Basketball Federation, with immense input from the Sopron club, selected the city to help play host to Fiba Women’s EuroBasket 2015, as well as multiple European youth championships, including this coming summer’s Fiba U20 Women’s European Championship.

“Given this excellent track record, and with the full support of the Hungarian Basketball Federation, I am confident that this will be a successful, well executed Final Four.”

Ferenc Szalay, president of the Hungarian Basketball Federation, added: “It was self-evident for the Federation to help the club and the city in all aspects during the negotiations for the right to organise.

“This opportunity to organise is the great success of the city of Sopron, of the local club and especially of Hungarian basketball.”

The 2017 edition of the EuroLeague Women Final Four took place in Yekaterinburg, Russia. Host team UMMC Ekaterinburg finished third after beating Czech club ZVVZ USK Praha in the third-place playoff game.