Hammer Series heads to Norway with Tour des Fjords partnership

The Hammer Series, a new cycling event created by the Infront Sports & Media agency and the Velon collective body of pro cycling teams, has agreed a partnership with Norwegian event the Tour des Fjords through which the city of Stavanger will host the series in 2018.

The introduction of Hammer Stavanger will mean that the sixth edition of the Tour des Fjords next May will now be comprised of three stages, following the new three-day Hammer Series format. The partnership with Velon secures an unprecedented high-class field for both events.

Tour des Fjords event director Roy Hegreberg said: “The Hammer Series is something completely new and unique that the fans haven’t seen before. It is the future of cycling and we are proud to be one of the first ones to jump aboard that train.

“Velon’s main idea for Hammer Series is to innovate cycling and develop experiences that connect fans to the sport. This perfectly fits the strategy we have been following and our vision of making cycling into a big event for everybody.”

Two of the Tour des Fjords’ current main sponsors – Santander Consumer Bank Norge and Repsol Norge – will also support Hammer Stavanger.

Graham Bartlett, chief executive of Velon, said: “Everything about the area, the excellent race organisation and the strong interest people in Norway have in cycling, makes it a perfect fit for us. We look forward to working closely with Roy and his team and the event’s range of partners to create an exhilarating three days of cycling races.”

The announcement comes in the week that the first Hammer Series race takes place in Limburg in the Netherlands. The inaugural event, Hammer Sportzone Limburg, will be held from June 2-4.

The Hammer Series will seek to determine road cycling’s true champion team through a unique race format combining the sport’s three core disciplines. Each Hammer Series race will consist of three challenges across consecutive days – the Hammer Sprint, the Hammer Climb and the Hammer Chase.

Twelve WorldTour teams, plus four Pro-Continental teams, will compete in the maiden event.