HomeNewsIndustry MovesTennisGlobal

Haggerty comfortably re-elected as ITF president

Photo credit: ITF

David Haggerty has today (Friday) been re-elected as president of the International Tennis Federation (ITF).

Haggerty (pictured), who was first elected to the role in September 2015, will now serve a second four-year term until 2023 after securing an overwhelming majority of the votes at the ITF’s annual general meeting in Lisbon, Portugal.

The American saw off competition from India’s Anil Khanna, who he defeated to secure the position four years ago, as well as Ireland’s David Miley and Ivo Kaderka of the Czech Republic.

Haggerty received 259 votes, equivalent to 60.5 per cent of the number of votes cast, during the first round of voting in Lisbon this morning. Khanna polled 93 votes (21.7 per cent), ahead of Miley with 46 votes (10.8 per cent) and Kaderka with 30 votes (7 per cent).

Haggerty succeeded Francesco Ricci Bitti as ITF president, with the Italian having led the organisation from 1999 to 2015.

The headline change during Haggerty’s first term in office was the substantial overhaul of the Davis Cup, with ITF members last year voting for a major reform package of the national team tournament.

From this year, the competition will see 18 nations and the world’s best players compete in a week-long season finale to be crowned Davis Cup champions. The first two editions of the new event will be held in Madrid.