Griezmann heads all-star line-up for Orsen’s Solidarity Challenge

Photo: Orsen

Sports marketing agency Orsen has revealed the line up of figures from across the world of sports and entertainment who will compete in its Solidarity Challenge, an initiative created in partnership with video game developer Konami to raise funds on behalf of the Covid-19 Solidarity Response Fund for the World Health Organization.

Barcelona forward Antoine Griezmann heads up a list which also includes fellow French football stars Amandine Henry and Blaise Matuidi, alongside former players Yaya Touré, Steve McManaman and Ludivic Giuly.

From other sports, distance runner Mo Farah represents track and field, with golf’s Tommy Fleetwood and rugby stars Mathieu Bastareaud and Danny Care also involved.

Meanwhile, BT Sport has secured the exclusive UK broadcast rights to the competition, joining Eleven Sports, Eurosport, MediaCorp, BeIN Sport and over 80 broadcasters in other countries who will show the tournament on linear channels. It will also be available via the Solidarity Challenge YouTube channel from Friday, with the tournament playing out over the course of the coming weekend (June 12-14).

The Solidarity Challenge will see the competitors take one another on in a knock-out tournament on Konami’s eFootball PES 2020 video game.

All profits generated by the competition will be donated to the WHO’s Covid-19 Solidarity Response Fund, which was established by the UN Foundation and the Swiss Philanthropy Foundation at the request of the WHO, and is the only channel by which organisations and individuals can contribute directly to the WHO’s ongoing efforts to fight the Covid-19 pandemic.

The full line-up of tournament participants is:

  • Amandine Henry (Football)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Football)
  • Blaise Matuidi (Football)
  • Danny Care (Rugby)
  • Giorgio Chiellini (Football)
  • Jermaine Jenas (Football)
  • Liv Cooke (Football Freestyle)
  • Ludovic Giuly (Football)
  • Louis Saha (Football)
  • Mathieu Bastareaud (Rugby)
  • Mo Farah (Atletics)
  • Robert Pires (Football)
  • Scott McTominay (Football)
  • Steve McManaman (Football)
  • Tommy Fleetwood (Golf)