HomeNewsFinance & LawFootballGermany

Germany’s ‘big four’ to make solidarity payment to other clubs

Germany's Bundesliga is planning a return to action behind closed doors (Photo by Boris Streubel/Getty Images)

German Bundesliga football clubs Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund, RB Leipzig and Bayer Leverkusen have pledged to provide €20m ($22m) to support clubs in the top tier and the second-tier 2. Bundesliga amid a period of uncertainty caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

The clubs, which each competed in the 2019-20 Uefa Champions League campaign, will forego their share of the as-yet undistributed national media revenue from the German Football League (DFL) next season.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here