FIH assigns hosting rights for Hockey World League events

Six countries will host Hockey World League Round 2 events in early 2017, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) has announced.

The three men’s competitions will take place in Tacarigua (Trinidad & Tobago), Dublin (Republic of Ireland) and Dhaka (Bangladesh) while the women’s tournaments will take place in Vancouver (Canada), Valencia (Spain) and Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia). The dates for each event are currently being finalised in conjunction with each host national association.

The events will form part of the 2016-17 Hockey World League, with the FIH currently finalising the venues and teams for the Round 1 tournaments in 2016. The league comprises a total of four rounds every two years and the 2016-17 campaign will decide which teams will qualify alongside the continental champions and hosts for the FIH World Cups in 2018 for women in England and for men in India.

“We had an unprecedented number of exceptional applications to host these events which made the decision making process extremely difficult,” FIH chief executive Kelly Fairweather said. “Twenty-four bids from cities around the world were received, which provides further evidence of the growing global spread of our sport.

“What’s great to see is that many of the bids reflected one of our Hockey Revolution goals – to develop innovative and exciting entertainment events. With this in mind, we have no doubt that each and every one of the host cities will put on fantastic events and in doing so showcase international hockey at its best.”