The Committee chaired by Issa Hayatou (Cameroon) confirmed that male players born on or after 1 January 1977 may be fielded for the Olympic Final Competition (including those who have already featured in an Olympic competition). However, each team will be allowed three players who exceed this age limit and who will not be subject to restrictions. There will be no change to the numbers in the squads as stipulated by FIFA and the IOC: a maximum of 18 male and 16 female players.

The men’s (16 teams) and women’s (8 teams) competitions will be staged in five towns: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Canberra. The men’s final on 30 September 2000 will be played in Sydney’s new Olympic Stadium, which has a capacity of 115,000. The sports ground is due to completed next spring and will be inaugurated with a match between the Australian hosts and a world selection, the FIFA All Stars, on 12 June 1999.

The committee also accepted the belated enrolment from the Philippines for the Olympic football preliminaries. Mauritania and Sierra Leone have both withdrawn so the number of competitors now is now 150. The Philippines were drawn by lots to compete in group 6 of the AFC preliminaries (Japan, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Nepal, Philippines).
The Fifa Media Committee, chaired by Chuck Blazer (USA), discussed issues arising from France 98 and agreed on the need to restrain the expansion of the media operation and facilities. The Committee also plans to draft guidelines for minimum standards and other requirements for media arrangements at non-FIFA events, for the guidance of national associations and other organisers. FIFA will also examine a proposal from the International Sports Journalists Association to holds joint seminars for sports journalists.