Fiba Europe confirms key appointments

Fiba Europe has confirmed the appointments of three vice-presidents at the basketball administration following the re-election of Turgay Demirel as president last month.

At the first meeting of the four-year term spanning 2019 to 2023 in Munich, Fiba Europe’s board confirmed that Jean-Pierre Suitat, president of the French Basketball Federation, would serve as the first vice-president.

Suitat will be accompanied by vice-presidents Carmen Tocala of Romania and John Goncalves of Gibraltar.

The members of the Fiba Europe executive committee were also confirmed.

The committee will comprise Demirel, the three vice-presidents and Fiba Europe, treasurer Karl Thaller of Austria, as well as Spaniard Jorge Garbajosa, Russian Natalia Galkina, Hungarian Ivan Bodrogvary and Asterios Zois of Greece.

Commission appointments for the next four years were also announced at the meeting.

Thaller will lead the Finance Commission, while Wolfgang Brenscheidt of Germany will take the helm of the Competitions Commission and Bulgarian Georgi Glushkov will steer the Technical Commission.

The Women’s Commission will be led by Nastassia Marynina of Belarus, the Legal Commission will be steered by George Kartvelishvili of Georgia, the Youth Commission will have Matej Erjavec of Slovenia at the helm, while Ireland’s Bernard O’Byrne will lead the Small Countries Commission.

Most recent

After launching in Miami this spring, the Sports Decision Makers Summit – from SportBusiness and Sportel – came to London's Rosewood hotel on July 9-10. This is what we learned from our expert speakers. W

Liverpool FC decided to arrange its own tour of the United States this summer, rather than compete in the pre-season International Champions Cup, because the club preferred to be "independent" and have more freedom to arrange opponents, dates and venues.

As the Tour de France moves towards its conclusion in Paris, Kevin Roberts talks to Ralph Denk, team manager of the German Bora-Hansgrohe team about the business of running and funding an international cycling outfit.

As France's Ligue 1 is staging a four-team tournament in Washington DC this week, Bob Williams looks at how it aims to expand its reach into the US and improve overseas media-rights income.